Murray Sherwin CNZM

Chair, New Zealand Productivity Commission

An economist with over 35 years’ experience in a wide range of public policy roles with the current position of Chair for the New Zealand Productivity Commission, Murray’s previous appointments include: Chief Executive and Director General of the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry; Deputy Governor of the Reserve Bank of New Zealand; member of the Board of Executive Directors of the World Bank; and member of the Prime Minister’s Advisory Group. 
Other current roles include: Chair, Strategic Risk and Resilience Panel - advising the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet on national risk issues; and Chair, Innovation Partnership – a group of private and public sector entities supporting smart use of internet technology.

Murray is an accredited member of the New Zealand Institute of Directors and a Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Management. He is a graduate of the University of Waikato (MSocSci (hons)).